Grand Morelos Diner & Bakery

their guacamole. also good... picture...not so good...

by DJW

While I still yearn for the days with this was called “Grand Morelos Bakery & Dinner”, I understand that even a gorgeously tacky 24 hour Mexican eatery has to grow up with the gentrification of the neighbourhood.

No matter how they have changed the decor, signs and take-out bags, one important thing remains the same: the food.

Delicious, cheap and real Mexican. You just can never go wrong with that.

Now, I will warn you, I have yet to make my way through the whole menu, and I keep far, far away from anything Tex-Mex, as well as anything plain-old American.

Why? Because I come to this place to eat real Mexican food. I wholly recommend the chilaquiles, tacos, tostadas, burritos, sopas, cemitas and the tortas (Mexican sandwiches)… Also good are some of the platters, but really, you can’t go wrong spending anywhere from a whopping $2.50 (tacos) to $3.50 (burritos). For me, the chilaquiles are enough to feed two people, and they’re around $7.95. Their hot sauce is also to die for…

What to keep away from? Well, I’m a food snob, so while I’ll eat their french fries (it’s an illness…) because I find them especially delicious dipped into the fabulous electric green hot sauce, I steer clear of the burgers and also the nachos. I never ordered the nachos, but have had friends do it and regret it…they’re not horrible, per se, but I think I can do without the culinary sensation of sliced American cheese on nachos.

The prices really haven’t changed much in the past eight years (and hopefully they’ll continue to stay in the I’m bloody broke but I can afford to eat here range), so it’s really affordable to pick up something, or stay in and eat. And, in this economy, it’s always great to have somewhere you can actually afford, aside from the local soup kitchen.

It’s also open 24 hours, which is a godsend for all you drunken boozers stumbling home in need of sustenance before counting your sheep. I’ve been there at 4.30am, being bought beers by a bunch of Mexicans. And they were way more polite and gentlemanly about it than any other man that eve. Of course, that’s not the reason to go there after the bar closes. No, you go there to eat some delicious food before bed.

Oh, and while I have not partaken of their breakfast menu (I’m sorry, but I love me a morning tostada), I must say their coffee is delicious, cheap and strong. Perfect for battling the morning after hangovers.

If you want great Mexican food at recession prices, then check this place out.

Grand Morelos Diner & Bakery, 727 Grand St, Brooklyn, Between Graham Ave & Humboldt St

The Neil Diamond Seal of Approval? 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

