Zander Bleck & Studio E at The Canal Room 03/07/09

by LLI

The evening began with a $10 cover charge. Never cool, especially in this economy, but it was Saturday night in the city and my buddy’s birthday, so I shelled out.

Studio E was the opening band. I’d checked them out earlier on the interwebs whilst sipping a glass of cheap red zinfandel, getting all tarted-up at my apartment ( fine two glasses! and okay fine! One was a bit of a wine bomb. If you don’t know what a wine bomb is then make sure to tune in on Youtube to watch the upcoming behind the scenes segment covering this marvelous drink on The Neil Diamond Cooking Show!), and they seemed worth a listen

I was definitely down with their bluesy folky vibe and was ready to enjoy a chill show. It had been a while since I went to a laid back show and I was anxiously anticipating reliving my high school hippy days. Little did I know that I would be going back to that time and then some!

The band began and within 60 seconds of listening thoughts of 1991,’92 and ’93 jumped into my head….was I just drunk or did they sound like Rusted Root and a splash of Hootie? The music was infectious, I found myself liking it and I hated 90’s rock!

After a few songs they announced special guest Bridget Morrissey and up trotted a fresh faced American Idolish girl. This is when the show heated up. They played Roxette’s “It Must Have Been Love”, Wilson Philips’s”Hold On”, and lead singer Jason started free styling TLC’s “Don’t Go Chasing Waterfalls !”, broadening the scope of their previous early 90’s hits and bringing them right up into the tragically hip late 90’s…..abSA-fuckin-lootly! Studio E was amazing!

Now, I was primed and more than ready to see what Zander was gonna bring to the table. I’d heard an electro track online that he did with Jaimie Fanatic and I loved it but I just couldn’t imagine him performing with a band. Plus, I’d heard flack on the streets that he was just a pretty boy because he models and as much as I suspected this stemmed from an ultra hater or a scorned ex-lover I secretly wondered if he was gonna pull an Ashley Simpson and fall flat on his face? Before I could stew on this negativity too long, the band came on, they looked great and immediately started to r-o-c-k.

Zander’s voice had a hint of nostalgia, like a fresh brewed sweet tea on a hot day. If you want to be transported out of the daily urban grind, come to a Zander show. His voice has just the right level and inflection that makes you want him to sing for you all night long. A tall confident presence on stage as the front man, the whole band gave off a good aura and Jayden and I found ourselves being drawn away from the bar (can you imagine?) and onto the center of the crowded dance floor.

The music was a great blend of classic rock with perfectly placed times of electronica. Zander seemed very comfortable on the stage as he teetered and danced around giving off a modern Steven Tyler vibe.

Zander Bleck is an artist with an edge, and I don’t just mean the edge on his stone chisled abs (but those are nice too). Definitely keep an eye on this one. Also, rumor has it that he may be performing live at Winter Music Conference (WMC) at Rok Bar, Set, Louey or Florida Room.

The Neil Diamond Seal of Approval Rating? 3.5 stars out of 5. For both.

1 Comment

  1. I really like your site:)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

