Golden Bones @ Southpaw 05/21/09

golden bones!

I walked in to the middle of Golden Bones’s set. And I was struck by how…good they were.

I don’t mean I was expecting them to suck, but as the first band up, I figured they would be the weakest link in the line up. But they were far from that. In fact this was an evening where the three bands proved to not only be very different from each other, not only in sound, but in stage presence, but also gave forth a high quality across the board musical experience. Which, in my experience, is rare.

Golden Bones is a pared back band and sound. Reminiscent of the old school pub band. They don’t have bells and whistles or a look or anything to capture the audience, anything, that is , except for their sound.

Their sound grabbed you. It’s their hook, they don’t need bells and whistles. They captured the audience with their deceptively simple but infectious melodies and tunes.

Their sound is bluegrass, blues, 70s movie honky tonk, and a decent dash of country, but they blend it with something else that I can’t quite put my finger on that’s almost magical, that particular ingredient that pulls a dish together and makes it into something really special.

And that, my friends, is what I found when I listened to Golden Bones.

Do yourself a favour. Check ’em out on myspace, or, even better, head on down to Pete’s Candy Store in Brooklyn to hear them play every Friday for the rest of July.

Pete’s Candy Store. 709 Lorimer St. 8.30 pm. Free!

The Neil Diamond Seal of Approval? 4.5 stars out of 5.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment